Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Saturday, November 21, 2015

2015 Costa Book Awards

One of the last literary awards of the year is the Costa Book Awards.  These awards, launched in 1971, honour the outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.  There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry, and Children's Book.  One of the five winning books is eventually selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children's books alongside adult books in this way.

The shortlists were announced this past week.  In the Fiction category, there are four books:
                A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
                The Green Road by Anne Enright
                A Place Called Winter by Patrick Gale
                At Hawthorn Time by Melissa Harrison

In the First Novel category, there are also four books:
                Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume
                The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer
                The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
                Things We Have in Common by Tasha Kavanagh

For information about all the categories, books, and authors, check out

The category winners will be announced on January 4, 2016; the Costa Book of the Year will be named on January 26, 2016.