Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Sunday, September 25, 2016

Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction

The longlist for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction was released: 

The Angel of History by Rabih Alameddine
Dodgers by Bill Beverly
Perfume River by Robert Olen Butler
Moonglow by Michael Chabon
Heroes of the Frontier by Dave Eggers
Sudden Death by Álvaro Enrigue
LaRose by Louise Erdrich
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
To the Bright Edge of the World by Eowyn Ivey
How I Became a North Korean by Krys Lee
Behold the Dreamers by Imbolo Mbue
The Sport of Kings by C. E. Morgan
Christodora by Tim Murphy
Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
Mister Monkey by Francine Prose
The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith
Swing Time by Zadie Smith
My Name Is Lucy Barton by Elizabeth Strout  (See my review:
The Good Lieutenant by Whitney Terrell
Do Not Say We Have Nothing by Madeleine Thien
As Good as Gone by Larry Watson
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead  (See my review:
Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction was established in 2012 to recognize the best fiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The winner will receive a $5,000 cash award.

Finalists are announced October 26.  The winner will be announced January 22.

There is also an Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction.  Go to for further information.