Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

2017 Hugo Awards

The Hugo Awards, established in 1955, are considered one of the world's top prizes for science fiction writing.  They are given annually for the best science fiction or fantasy works and achievements of the previous year.  The finalists were announced earlier this month in Helsinki, Finland.

A year after NK Jemisin became the first black person to win the Hugo award for best novel, the African American author has landed the prestigious science fiction prize for the second year running.  She becomes the first person in 25 years to win the award two years in a row.  She took the prize, which is voted for by fans, for The Obelisk Gate, the follow-up to her Hugo award-winning novel The Fifth Season.  The Broken Earth series is set in a world that is constantly threatened by seismic activity, and where the mutants who can control the environment are oppressed by humans.

Here are some of the other winners:
Best Novella:  Every Heart a Doorway, by Seanan McGuire
Best Novelette:  “The Tomato Thief,” by Ursula Vernon
Best Short Story:  “Seasons of Glass and Iron,” by Amal El-Mohtar   (Amal El-Mohtar is a Canadian!)