Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Saturday, September 16, 2017

2017 National Book Award for Fiction Longlist

The longlist for the National Book Award for Fiction was announced yesterday.  There are ten titles:

Elliot Ackerman for Dark at the Crossing
Daniel Alarcón for The King Is Always Above the People: Stories
Charmaine Craig for Miss Burma
Jennifer Egan for Manhattan Beach
Min Jin Lee for Pachinko
Carmen Maria Machado for Her Body and Other Parties: Stories
Margaret Wilkerson Sexton for A Kind of Freedom
Jesmyn Ward for Sing, Unburied, Sing
Carol Zoref for Barren Island

The National Book Awards are a set of annual U.S. literary awards presented to American authors for books published in the United States during the award year.  National Book Awards are currently given to one book (author) annually in each of four categories:  fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature.

National Book Awards finalists will be announced on October 4, and the winners will be announced at a ceremony in New York on November 15.